News & Blogs

Total Theatre Awards 2015 Winners

29 Aug 2015

Total Theatre 2015 Awards Announced

  • Dance recognised for the first time in new category supported by The Place
  • Circus recognised in a special category for a second year
  • 522 shows assessed in total across all eligible categories
  • Seven awards presented to artists across five categories

Since 1997, the Total Theatre Awards have been recognising innovative and artist-led performance at the Edinburgh Festival Fringe. We are delighted to announce today the winners for the Total Theatre Awards 2015.

Over the course of this year’s Edinburgh Festival Fringe 35 Peer Assessors, comprised of Artists, Producers, Programmers, Curators, Critics and Academics assessed 522 shows across the first 11 days of the festival, from which a shortlist of 31 nominated shows was announced on 20 August 2015. Following this the nominated shows were viewed by a panel of 20 judges who have awarded 7 awards across 5 categories – one Award for an Emerging Company, two Awards for Circus, one Award for Visual/Physical Theatre, two Awards in Innovation, Experimentation and Playing With Form and this year, for the first time, one award for Dance. The inclusion of an award for dance for the first time this year marks the Total Theatre Awards’ ongoing commitment to recognising independent artists working across all disciplines at the Fringe and follows last year’s inclusion of a new category for circus. One Significant Contribution award has also been awarded.

Speaking about this year’s Total Theatre Awards Producers Jo Crowley & Becki Haines said: “This year’s awards celebrate some exceptional artist-led and independent work. The awarded artists have created work that demonstrates the power of theatre and live performance to communicate, entertain and inspire audiences – cutting across boundaries of background, nationality and language. Much of which has been made in challenging circumstances, with limited resource and could easily slip through the gaps, and we are therefore delighted that Total Theatre is recognising, championing and celebrating this work."

The Award Winners are:

Shows by an Emerging Company/Artist This Award is supported by Farnham Maltings
The Beanfield (England) Breach
 (theSpace on the Mile)

Physical / Visual Theatre
Oog (Scotland) Al Seed presented in association with Feral Arts (Dance Base)

Innovation, Experimentation & Playing with Form
Can I Start Again Please (England) Sue MacLaine and Nadia Nadarajah (Summerhall)

Portraits in Motion (Germany)
 Volker Gerling in association with Aurora Nova (Summerhall)

Total Theatre & The Place Award for Dance
Vertical Influences (Canada) Le Patin Libre

Total Theatre & Jacksons Lane Award for Circus
B-Orders (Palestine)
 Palestinian Circus in association with Aurora Nova (Underbelly)

Smoke and Mirrors (United States) theRICOCHETproject

Significant Contribution Award
Forced Entertainment

Notes to editors
The Judging panel for the 2015 Total Theatre Awards years awards is; Adrian Berry (Artistic Director, Jacksons Lane), Paul Burns (Acting Artistic Director, Yorkshire Dance), Owen Calvert-Lyons (Artistic Director, The Point), Iryna Chuzhynova (Deputy Editor in Chief, Ukrainian Theatre Magazine), Professor Anthony Dean (Dean of Arts - University of Winchester), Simon Hart (Artistic Director, Puppet Animation Scotland), Wolfgang Hoffman (Artist & Producer, Aurora Nova, Berlin, Germany), Donald Hutera (Critic - The Times), Kevin Jamieson (Senior Producer, HOME), Leila Jones (Circus Producer, The Roundhouse), Anton Ovchinnikov (Choreographer & Founder of Zelyonka Fest, Kyiv), Dorothy Max Prior (Editor, Total Theatre Magazine), Charlie & Barbara Pugh (Programmers & Managers, The Tolmen Centre Constantine), Tina Rasmussen (Director Performing Arts, Harbourfront Centre & World Stage, Toronto, Canada), Layla Rosa (Artist, Shunt & Previous Total Theatre Award winner), Viktoria Schvydko (Manager of Theatre and Director of Art Workshop Drabyna), Jo Stendall (Producer, Michael Clark Company), Matt Trueman (Freelance Critic & Journalist), Tamara Trunova (Theatre Director). The Judging Meeting was chaired by Natalie Querol, Director Empty Space >>> About the Total Theatre Awards The Total Theatre Awards were developed for the benefit of artists, the sector and audiences and have, over the last two decades, blazed a trail of recognition for independent artists and companies creating innovative, artist-led theatre and performance. Resisting too narrow a definition of the term ‘total theatre’ the Awards focus on artists and companies leading innovative work within the fields of devised theatre, live art, visual performance, mime, puppetry, physical theatre, experimental theatre, clown, circus, street, immersive, outdoor, dance, site specific performance and more. Previous winners include Bryony Kimmings, Scottee, Derevo, Ridiculusmus, Circa, Ken Campbell, Shunt, Spymonkey, Black Sky White & Station House Opera.

In this section: